Work or travel before university; very difficult to resume after discontinuation

In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, an increasing number of high school students prefer working before they attend university. While this trend is generally endorsed in many western countries such as America, Britain etc. the same does not hold true universally. Countries such as India have different perspective to look at this issue. Taking a break from studies for a year or so for whatever reasons - be it for work or for traveling is not looked at very positively. Needless to say there are differences in thought procedures between the east and west.

In western countries mostly, where students are encouraged to work for a year before starting university studies helps a lot for the overall career building of the students. The students can become self-dependent and they tend to learn the art of living at an early age. Those who want to join university again for higher studies may become more determined by seeing their highly qualified bosses and may study hard in university for getting a good score and proper knowledge.

To the flip side of the situation, working or traveling for a year before university studies may not be a very good idea. Once there is a discontinuation of a something then it becomes very difficult to resume it. Moreover if a student starts earning at a younger age then he/she may be distracted with the charm of money and may not be able to go back to studies again.

Hence, if a student has a firm determination of higher studies then taking a break from studies for traveling or working is not an issue. It may encourage him more to fill his worldly desires by the power of Higher education. On the reverse scenario he may not turn back and go back for university studies.