IELTS WRITTING TASK 2 : With the rise of the ebooks comes the decline in paper books

With the rise of the ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see it a good step forward while others do not. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

With today's advanced technology, digital reading has gradually become common among book's lovers. The increase of e-books, entailing an upward trend in the physical one, is considered to be a positive step forward by a group of individuals, while others hold a contrast view. From my perspective, this alternative of traditional books still has some disadvantages, though they are outweighed by the obvious benefits.

Supporters of conventional reading are likely to invoke the adverse effects of e-books on human well-being. To be specific, spending time constantly on a green screen to read definitely weakens our eyesight. Therefore, reading electronic books hours to hours contributes to causing chronic eyes' problem in the long run. Secondly, using smart books on electronic devices can be an uncomfortable experience because of the sudden appearance of pop-up notifications, interrupting the reader's concentration. For that reason, digital books seem to be bothering and perhaps irritating readers. However, all of these issues have efficient remedies, such as separating reading period into shorter times or activating focus mode on smart equipment.

Continuing, I posit that the straightforward advantages ebooks bring about have potential to outcome its negative impacts. Primarily, the conveniences offered by virtual reading are emphasized. With a pocket portable device, readers are able to access the information, regardless of space and time. This completely settles the matter of storage space of conventional books, at the same time being suitable for traveling especially. Otherwise, online reading has the ability to save the reader's budget thanks to a variety of unpaid reading websites and digital libraries, easily found on the Internet. Finally, electronic books are also involved in preserving the environment by easing cutting down trees, the main material for generating paper. Decrease in physical books entails the reduction in its component - paper, particularly.

To conclude, while several drawbacks still exist in on-screen reading, they definitely can be addressed, therefore outweighed by the benefits profiting readers. Indeed, the emergence of electronic books can be seen as a further step forward optimistically.