IELTS 2 - youngsters are devoting too much time to keep up with the latest fashion trends

IELTS WRITING_ TASK 2: Fashion trends

Task 2:

Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends.

What is your opinion?

Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, it is true that young generations are splashing out and devoting too much time to keep up with the latest fashion trends. From my perspective, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why following chic items would be a positive aspect. First of all, teenagers are considered fashion to be a tool to define themselves. This is because many stylish and up-to-date clothes convey a lot of their personalities, tastes, and lifestyles. Hence, experimenting with new fashion trends enables the youth to try out different styles and make their appearance more distinguished. Another significant benefit is boosting their self-confidence. Young people who keep up with what is in vogue might get a lot of attention from their peers and like-minded people, compared to those who are outdated. Also, with a great sense of clothing, they could have a high chance to make good first impressions with others as well.

On the other hand, the demerits of this tendency should never be ignored, and the main one is that the strong desire to stimulates overconsumption. By engrossing in high-items, young people must squander their time and money on shopping or searching for trendy clothes in magazines. As a result, they may neglect other important things such as studies, works, or even personal relationships. Another unfavorable effect of this trend is that it may drive young people to the edge of bankruptcy. If the world of fashion is always changing, more and more teenagers are willing to pour money into luxurious items. Things can even become worse, especially when unexpected things occur, such as accidents, or when the need to pay for tuition fees arises.

In conclusion, although following fashion trends would be beneficial to some extent, I strongly believe that this can contribute to some drawbacks.