IELTS TASK 2: ZOOs are only to entertain people?

TOPIC: Some people argue that the purpose of zoos is only to entertain people. What do you think? What other purposes of zoos?

Answer:

A zoo is a facility in which animals are confined within enclosures and displayed to the public and in which they may also be bred. Some critics dispute that the purpose of the zoos is only for the entertainment of visitors. However, beside entertaining people, there are varieties of purposes as for conservation, research, as well as for education purposes.

Primarily, the zoological parks are established for conservation, as well as research and education purposes. These zoos are places where rare species live. They are animal species that are going to disappear from the world, so zoos are established for scientists making the breeding of the endangered species. Environment also is created for animals to have good health, to live well as they live in natural environment. The zoos also are places for scientists to research animal behavior and anatomy. Diverse communities can visit the zoos for studying about animals, understanding and protect animals and their habitats. For example, The Zoological Society of London is one of the zoological parks like that. This zoo contains Research Institute, Center of Physiology and Institute of Medicine for helping animals.

Secondarily, purpose of the zoos is to entertain visitors as modern zoos. The zoos are place where animals live in captivity and display for people to view. There are so many kinds of animal as lion, tiger, giraffes, monkey... Visitors feel interesting when seeing animals in the zoos. Money from selling ticket for visitors helps improving the zoos. The Penrose Research Laboratory of the Philadelphia Zoo is good for visiting animals

In conclusion, purposes of zoological parks not only to entertain visitors, but also for other purposes. However, the zoos need more improvement to have environment like in nature for animals.