IELTS Academic Writing "Persuasive Power vs. Waning Influence: Debating the Impact of Advertising"

It is contentious whether the advertisement can successfully persuade consumers to purchase their products or it is too common for us to notice nowadays. Although some ads are successful at achieving the broadcasting effect, the indifference inspiring by the **information explosion** is the problem which cannot be ignored.

On the one hand, with the innovation of displaying media, to percisely target customers is not a hard thing for the brands. With the commercial songs and the repeating slogans, the image of company is apparently deeply into people's mind motivating them to buy products to show their taste. For instance, Hermes is known with its vividly orange standard color which catches the eyes at the first sight. Besides, the company regards their products as a symbol of noble which has a great impact on the public image. High-classes start to purchase the latest purse and scarf to show their financial and socioeconomic status. The advertising strategy successfully forces customers to buy their expensive merchandise.

On the other hand, with the advertisement getting more and more fansy to attract people's attention, the public starts feeling disregarded due to the fatigue of attention. To solve this problem, people come up with two solutions: one side believes in "Less is more" and another side is to make the biggest use of the latest technology, for instance, adding some effects of virtual intellegence into the ad's viewing experience. What is in common is that the convention way of advertising is out of time and needs to be replaced immediately. All the advertising firms need to do is keeping trying their best to test the border of the acceptence of potential customers.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments has their merits but I believe that the advertising industry is currently facing the threat of disregarding based on too much information appearing at the same time.