IELTS Writing Task 2 - Adults and students are working and studying from home

Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

DO YOU THINK THIS IS A POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In many countries, since technology are becoming more and more easy to access with cheaper price, many adults start working from home, and also, their children, beginning to study at home with their parents. In my view, this is a negative development which can bring prolonged consequences with not much benefits.

First of all, only staying at home while working or studying could cause health problems, which are mental issues and physical health. To clarify, humanity need social contact to co-exist, and that is also true with children and adults. Without meeting with their colleagues and students, it's likely for a person to deal with bad emotions like depressions. Additionally, as people need to use phones and computers while doing their job. Those technological devices could be detrimental to your eyes, back, and other parts of your body. As a consequence, these harmful effects will put a big strain on not only people but also the society as a whole.

On the other hand, working and studying remotely can leads to low quality in action. Some principal problems of this may include frictions at home like noise, household chores, with full sources of frustration from your house. Secondly, despite the increasing growth of technology, they still have drawbacks including low internet bandwith or lack of interaction, which can affect the ability of concentration and overall performances.

In conclusion, besides lots of advantages we achieve from technology, it is also true that this development is a backward move and should be considerably changed to alter the situation.