Ielts writing task 2 - Essay about the advantage of children when they learning English

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is universally acknowledged that learning a second language is of paramount importance in our entire lives. Therefore, some professionals think that the adolescents studying at primary school should start learning a language different from their mother language is better than the ones studying at secondary school. In this essay, I advocate that the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks and, I am going to give some evidence to prove my perspective clearly.

On the one hand, it is understandable that learning a different language plays a pivotal role in developing self-educated skills of young people. It is undeniable that children have a special affinity for animated cartoons on TV. In addition, the cartoons designed by directors from the US and UK where English is used as a national language. As a result, when English is taught for children at primary school, the adolescents can be into grasping what cartoon characters on foreign movies are talking about. After that, from my experience, I believe that children will improve their English skills gradually and frequently and become a master of English in the future.

In contrast, it is obvious that nations not using alphabet letters have to face with barriers while their citizens want to have access English. A clear example of this is residents from China, Japan, Korea where ideogram letters are used in public. Hence, when children at primary school have opportunity to start learning both ideogram and alphabet letters, they have not seldom felt confused. In my opinion, it is not good for developing progress of children and their multilingual skills. Teaching a English for adolescents from China or Japan is a effective way when the children study at secondary school.

In conclusion, learning a new language is a good idea for children at elementary education instead of secondary education. Learning a second language helps children brush up their self-educated skills to achieve career advancement in the future, however, it also drives Chinese or Japanese crazy when they must learn English.