IELTS task 2: ADVERTISING AND ADOLESCENTS (both views and opinion)

persuading children to buy things

Some advertisers have increased the amount of money they spend trying to persuade children to buy snacks, toys and other goods. Parents object to such pressure on their children, but advertisers claim there is useful information in these advertisements.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In general, advertising has increasingly played a vital role in improving product sales over the past decades. While it is a popular belief that commercials negatively influence children, advertisers would argue that they broaden customers' minds. In my opinion, I agree with the second view due to their supply of varied essential information.

Without a doubt, through advertisements, people are informed about major safety details. To be specific, they would be aware of manuals and danger warnings of the goods, which does not only instruct viewers to use the products effectively but also educate them on how to avoid varied accidents, such as electrical fires or system errors. On the other hand, varying people argue that advertisers spend more time exaggerating how quality their manufacture is than informing so-called crucial safety information in their commercials. However, the government has increasingly restricted such overstatement before allowing it to be publicized, therefore, it is inevitable that advertising significantly contributes to expanding customers' knowledge.

Furthermore, commercialization effectively informs people about the costs to consider before buying the goods. Undoubtedly, customers always want to buy the most affordable and quality products, hence, they expect advertisers to tell them about the prices and discounts. Marketing companies do emphasize how inexpensive their products could be and how economical buying them is. Meanwhile, discounts are considered temporary or available with certain hidden conditions, as a result, many would say that advertising only persuades children to buy their goods without fully equipping them with necessary details. However, the authority also verifies such information more carefully and enhances advertisers to inform more correct news about their products.

In conclusion, due to important safety details and price information provided by commercials, I believe advertising plays a fundamental part in providing people with useful knowledge. It is also recommended that the government should regulate irresponsible advertisers more strictly to benefit the customers even more.

Hello, this is my essay and I am really looking forward to seeing your feedback and suggestions.

(To the moderators) By the way, I was reported to plagiarize the comments and I would be sorry for that. I am not sure but maybe because I have seen similar mistakes, so I commented quite like you guys. But I promise to have more useful comments, so I hope to be forgiven. Thanks a lot!