Advertising has become an inevitable part of our lives.

Merits and demerits of Advertisement

In modern society, advertising is an indispensable element of people's lives. Some people have positive thoughts about those commercials while others hold contrasting opinions. Although advertising has certain drawbacks, I believe the benefits of it are far more significant.

To begin with, commercials sometimes bring quite few drawbacks. Advertisements may contain misleading contents, which lures consumers to splurge on the items and gradually make them lose faith in their favorite industries and brands due to the frustrating experiences of buying low-quality goods. Furthermore, toxic commercials including gambling and adult content advertisements may affect teenagers' mentality due to the lack of awareness and parental control. Therefore, those affections might lead children to unfortunate vices and bad behaviors. For instance, gambling advertisements could drive youngsters into gambling games, which are addictive and costly that betting addicts are ready to commit crimes like thefts despite the consequences.

However, I strongly believe that the merits of the hype industry are more essential not only for the individuals but also the enterprises. Both online and offline advertisements provide their customers with necessary suggestions, which gives them a wide range of choices for what to buy by abundant information contained in banners and clips on social media. Commercials can recommend customers with their needed products based on their search intent, which helps them save time in shopping for goods. In addition, advertising and marketing are effective methods for enterprises to introduce their goods and services to potential customers. Particularly, companies usually conduct several marketing campaigns including publishing banners, leaflets and billboards or advertisements on social networking sites, which widely reach more potential consumers, thus leading to increase of sales and revenues.

In conclusion, while the advertising industry entails certain downsides like creating dissatisfaction for customers or affecting teenagers' mentality, I side with those who believe the advancements are far more beneficial by providing a variety of choices for shopping and helping enterprises gain more loyal customers.