I can't agree fully with the demand of equality of number between genders in the universities

"Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

Please help me revise the below essay.

With the huge growth of the modern trend about women rights, the demands to accept equal number of both genders in each specialty in the universities start to increase. In general i can't agree fully with this statement.

In modern life, women gain many of their rights in different aspect of life as with the right to work or election. However, does this mean that equality between sexes should be in numbers in every place? In general each university has its requirements and prerequisites that should be fulfilled by the applicants before they apply to a certain specialty or subjects and of course these requirements differ between colleges and universities. And according to them the selection occurs, so the applicants with the best grades or CV will take the position. So how it will be a fair competition if the university was obligated to take equal number from both sexes? Moreover there is some fields which are more popular and suitable to a certain gender, as with engineering with males and teaching with females.

Even though, there is some fields which may need a larger number of females as in my countries and this mainly caused by the delay in giving the women their full rights, so accepting equal or could be higher number of female could a solution to fill the gap for a period of time, although it should not be a role forever. In addition, I think as I mention before there are certain subjects that more suitable for females and the society need them, therefore it would be better if the selection process not only look for the sex only as ideology ,on contrary they should keep in mind what the society need.

In conclusion, I can't agree fully with the demand of equality of number between genders in the universities, in contrast it should be depended on the level and grades of the applicant and the needs of the society.