IELTS Writing Task 2: Agree or Disagree of Local Police Officer Recruitment

Some observers say that police officers should be recruited from the communities where they work so that this is unnecessary or even undesirable. Where do you stand on this debate? Is local knowledge essential in modern policing?

police officers from the local community

Experts believe that a servant recruited for a police officer should be a homegrown person. I agree with this statement because, in my opinion, local knowledge is important to run this occupation.

Natives should be prioritized to handle police jobs since they understand well about problems in their area. As we know generally, each district has different issues. In some cities, robbery may be the biggest problem, while in the others the issues of murdering could be more popular. In this case, capable people recognizing in depth that problem are local societies because they have been living for a long duration in that place and have much time to observe. In addition, local officers recognizing many residents and places may be easy to gain information as a strong evidence for a case.

Moreover, an indigenous person is qualified to serve a community as they know about the language and custom there. This fact will obviously make people more convenient to socialize with officers. For instance, in South Sulawesi province, Indonesia, many elderly people cannot communicate by using Indonesian. However, they can console using their mother language which is able to be understood by officers on condition that they are local residents. Besides, local residents know how to treat community appropriately as every region has its own politeness standards. For example, in some districts, it is not the good manner to offer a document by using the left hand.

To sum up, the local community should be selected as police officers since they have adequate knowledge about the problem and tradition where they are working.