Although more and more people read the news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the main source

Although more and more people read the news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the main source of news for the majority of people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, despite the fact that there is an increasing number of people reading online news, others believe that traditional newspapers will still hold the most vital position for most people. Personally, I disagree with this point for some reasons.

Thanks to the technology developing process, online news has an advantage over paper newspapers. Firstly, the higher speed of conveying updated news to people is the most important advantage of online resources compared with paper-based newspapers. For example, when a natural disaster occurs over the world, news websites can report on it within minutes, while newspapers take until the next day to report it. Secondly, when news readers move from one place to another, instead of picking up a magazine at stores, they only need to take their cell phones or some other hand-held devices to access the internet to read news. Finally, readers can leave comments, share articles and interact with each other on forums and social networks, which helps them exchange opinions and discuss reported issues.

On top of that, reading a newspaper digitally rather than in traditional paper form is probably less damaging to the environment. If the demand for reading newspapers increased, that would produce many papers involving cutting trees. Consequently, there can be a significant increase in the rate of deforestation throughout our planet. In addition, the production of newspapers can also result in pollution. Some of the chemicals utilized in paper manufacturing can be discharged into the air, water and soil, which pose a risk to the environment.

In conclusion, I believe that the evidence suggests that newspapers are declining in popularity and are likely to be replaced by online news sources as the main source of news for the majority of people in the future.