GRE analytical writing ..TOPIC (preservation on endangered species)

Hi ,

The TOPIC is :

"At various times in the geological past, many species have become extinct as a result of natural, rather than human, processes. Thus, there is no justification for society to make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species."

Please provide your valuable comments on the following essay.

The speaker asserts over the period of time many species have become extinct and We should not make extraordinary efforts and spend any major resources for saving these species. In my point of view author is right but there are certain points which needs to be considered before making any conclusion about where and how much human efforts are required for preservation of endangered species.

Our society is already facing many problems today which needs immediate

attention . for example problem of hunger, diseases which is very visible and taking many human lives today has more importance then thinking about other species.these problems should be given priorities in term of resource,

so that we can make world a better place of human species at least.

The problems related to human survival should take more precedence then any other species.

Although there are many species which are dying because of natural

process, human race is also responsible for some of these .Killing of many marine and wild life for their skin or other valuable products from their bodies can not be termed as a natural process. We need to take steps to stop poaching and killing which is products of human greed rather then nature.For example Lions are killed for skin , elephants killed for the precious teeth . These kind of atrocities on animals can be restricted by very minimal efforts and do not require large resources.We can curb these by creating more sanctuaries and making stringent laws against such actions.

Many species are required to maintain the balance of life-cycle.although there are other purposes that some animals and species serves in social and spiritual context.For example national animal of many countries are species , which are symbol of prestige. Many species have religions feelings attached to them by societies.For example cow is considered as holy is many communities in India. so for spiritual and social point of view we need certain steps in saving some of the species.

In conclusion , I agree that we need to set our priorities for utilization of resources and make them more available for human species , but we also tend to care for other species which are becoming target of our greed and not dying because of natural process. We can not afford extraordinary efforts but least we can do whatever is feasible and make other species survive too.