GRE argument task : Altering news content for late-night show

'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The case of manager and television station is quite understandable, but the depicting argument in some parts seems bemused.

The late night news is broadcasted on rest time. So the valuable visitor on that time for business exactly different when business manager take their advertisement in afternoon news. Further, increasing portion for national news content over local and weather could not strongly stand. The author does not make a cogent statistical based on why should national news, is the visitor keen on watching national over local one, or, what is the valuable of weather and local over national news so that the late-night news picks those alterations.

Following complaint from concerned people of weather and local news is also confusing. There is no exact statistical number about the proportion of protester, is it major or just minor, the author does not give an appropriate measurement. Thus, the decision to change the pattern as the former may bring bias. Content of complain too, do not clearly addressed. Is it about the decreasing duration of weather-local news or the way TV channel broadcast it.

All in all, the argument for restoring late-night show could be acceptable from the side of complain and business revenue. However, the author does may weekend the argument with not providing the exact base on why such decision is taken.