A balance is required when covering news about celebrities and ordinary people

The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationship of celebrities such as actors, singers, or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some believe celebrities, such as actors, singers, or footballers, are too much covered by the media, while others assume more attention should be paid on mundane people. Although there is a reason why the media often reports celebrities' lives, which is gaining profits, I would argue the media should cover both side. Thus, the principal of media can be upheld.

In competitive media industries like current situation, it is undeniable fact that the media should gain profits in order to survive. So, one of the many reasons why the media cover celebrities is because this will bring benefits for media Industries. This happens because actors, singers, or footballers have thousands or even millions of fans that will follow their day-to-day activities. As a result, when the news about their idols is updated in the television, radio, or magazine, such fans will watch, listen or read that news so that the media will earn an excessive amount of money.

However, the media should remember their principal when reporting topical circumstances, to be impartial. As such, it will ensure ordinary people to be covered as well, and many people can learn from their inspiring stories, such as how to live in simplicity and keep persevering no matter what the situation is. This will make people more sensitive to one another because the media can create public opinion, so that hopefully they will help to those in need. Moreover, I firmly believe many more lessons of lives will be gained when reporting mundane people's lives.

In conclusion, although covering celebrities will bring significant profits, ordinary people cannot be entirely neglected. Because the role of media is not only reporting celebrities, but also ordinary citizens. Thus, it will uphold media's principal and many people can get much more information as well as see both side of the news, so a balance is required.