IELTS:become a huge ordeal; Children learning foreign language in primary school

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world when people tend to travel all over the world, the knowledge of foreign language becomes of great importance. Consequently, more and more people become bilingual or even multilingual. So if foreign languages are so important in our lives, should our children start learning them at primary schools rather than secondary schools?

To begin with, children who begin to learn a foreign language at primary school have the advantage over those kids who do it at secondary school. For instance, when a child become acquainted with a foreign language in early ages like at primary school the language is learnt quicker and better as a kid gets used to the sound of a foreign language. Moreover, the sooner children begin to learn a foreign language, the sooner they can use it in his day to day life in such activities as playing computer games, watching TV or online chatting.

On the other hand, if children begin to learn a foreign language at primary schools, the actual danger arises to the country's native language. For example, English starts to overwhelm mother-tongue in Lithuania. Therefore, the majority of teenagers and young adults in my homeland tend to use English instead of informal Lithuanian language. Furthermore, young children are not so motivated to learn, in general. They have no responsibility to learn new things. Henceforth, a foreign language might not be interesting for young children to learn.

On the whole, knowing a language is quite necessary skill these days. Yet, trying to learn it in a childhood might become a huge ordeal. Nevertheless, from my own experience I agree that learning a language at primary school is very beneficial practice, which should be encouraged.