Writing IELTS TASK 2 It is believed that in a bad circumstance, the best decision is to live with it

TOPIC: Some people think it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that in a bad circumstance, the best decision is to live with it. Others, however, disagree and make an effort to improve the grim situation.

Some individuals calmly accept an ill-fortune situation instead of trying to improve it. This is because they take the view that some things are out of hand and trying to control them is impossible. They then decide to go with the flow and be positive that valuable lessons can be gained from bad fortune. Take a friend of mine, who is an excellent football player, as an example. He got sick before an important football match but he calmly accepted it and stayed at home to rest. Although he loved to participate, he knew that even if he tried to play, he would either get worsen or hinder his teammates in the match.

On the other hand, some think that making an effort to improve a bad situation is the best decision when facing a dilemma. These individuals are afraid or even paranoid of the negative consequences. For instance, a man lacking money may have nightmares at one point about being homeless, friendless, and unworthy in the future. Therefore, he tries to have more money by getting a second career or selling his assets. In other words, the man's nightmares motivate him to improve his grim circumstance.

In my opinion, when facing a bad situation, the wisest action is to analyze the problem thoroughly. If the problem is out of hand, then waste none of your time or effort in improving it. If there is a chance to make it better, however, then do it.

In conclusion, keeping a clear mind in an unpleasant circumstance is considerably important because being able to analyze the problem will help you choose the best course of action. Some things can be changed and improved but others are out of hand.