The benefits of working and learning from home

Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is a common belief that with the development of technology, many adults and kids are working and learning remotely because it is easy to access and cheaper. This essay attempts to shed light on both merits and demerits before concluding that the latter notion is more significant.

On the one hand, working from home could be disadvantageous to some extent. Firstly, working mobile can create an unhealthy lifestyle. To be specific, they will be lazier and inactive, which can make them suffer from many health problems, such as obesity or heart attack. Secondly, telecommuting has detrimental impacts on human ability. Specificially, by not contacting other people face-to-face and not working in the real workplace, their communication and problem-solving skills are reduced, and working too much on the Internet can make them addicted to the mobile devices. For example, many studies showed that the number of people who have myopia increased fast in recent years.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that people should travel to work. One reason is that it can help them improve many life experiences and skills. To elaborate, when they go to work, they can meet many people, make new friends, and learn from each other; it is not only making you more mature; it also upgrades your work performance. Another reason is that learning at school helps students access full learning methods. For instance, when pupils do not understand a part of the lessons, they can ask the teacher and have a straightaway answer, not waiting for a long time like studying online.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that working and learning from home brings many benefits, I would contend that we should go to work.