IELTS Task 2 Essay - The birth rate begin to fall and the population is aging

Write about the following topic:

The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over.

What effects will these predictons have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

demographic situation in developed countries

Over the next 50 years, developed countries are forecasted to have some some problems such as fall of the birth rate. More than 30% of population of these countries are predicted will be elders with aged 65 and over.

First of all, this can be affected to social and economic aspects in the industrial countries. Due to decreasing of the population, the number the number of productive workers probably become limited. Furthermore, less workers be likely decreasing the tax incomes and increasing the tax outcomes of the countries. For example, the high amount of retired people make official to subside them in healthcare and other things. Thus, the minimum of birth rate probably is cause of several issues in developed countries.

However, some researchers already contribute to solve this case by offering some solutions, such as giving subsidy to family with new-baby-born. Government should provide the family with aid to healthcare for mother and child as well as food for the family. this solution are already used by a few of developed countries such as Australia, Canada, and Japan. In addition, Government should allow more immigrants to their countries, these people are expected to be productive labors in developed countries. Hence, subsidy for new-baby-born family and allowing more immigrants could help solve this issue.

To sum up the writings, decreasing of population, especially productive labors, decreasing the tax incomes and increasing the tax outcomes are the effects of fall of the birth rate. Several solutions that I mention above could probably help to tackle this problem.