'broaden horizons'; it is better to begin learning foreign language early

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning foreign language at primary school rather that secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undoubtedly true that learning a foreign language can broaden people's horizons and help to expose different cultures. Although some people believe that these languages should be in primary schools, other people argue that it is enough to learn in adulthood.

On the one hand, children have an innate ability to learn new languages easily and very quickly. They learn new skills very faster than adults so that it would be a better age to teach new things such as languages. Learning a new language is more important for every child to communicate each other. Furthermore, in a primary school teachers mainly focus on teaching their native language in order to understand pupil's behaviours and their needs. They easily started to use it fluently as a result of their parents using them daily. Consequently, primary school teachers can use the second language to communicate with students to encourage them learning and using it in the future.

On the other hand, secondary school is the best place to teach a second language because pupils are mature and willing to learn new things in their life. However, subjects are taught in adulthood school is highly focused on preparing their students for higher education as a result teachers should concentrate on main subjects rather than teaching a new language. For example, students are in secondary schools, they have to refer a lot of subject related material and lecture notes to score higher marks in exams in order to get a placement in a prestigious university or college. Therefore, they cannot focus on sub subjects like a second language.

In summary, it is clearly true that learning a foreign language may broaden children's horizons and giving them endless opportunities. However, these languages teach in primary schools the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.