Building more sports facilities as the efficient way to promote public health. Any other measures?

The best way to improve public health by building more sport facilities

Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people believe that building more sports facilities is the most efficient way to promote public health, while others argue that to have any significant impact other methods need to be adopted. Constructing additional athletic and gaming complex's will create an interest amongst the public as a majority of them grew up playing some sport, however, it is finally the mind-set of the people that needs to evolve towards embracing a healthier lifestyle.

On the one hand, since a large proportion of our population participated in some form of athletics or sport in school, they would be more susceptible to take up sports as a form of exercise. Building new facilities would bring back memories and pique the interest of people. Additionally, many sports require teams which would encourage participation in large numbers. For instance, in a country like India where cricket is treated as a form of religion, if the government built more cricket grounds, it would definitely attract participation from a large crowd. Therefore, proving the importance of more sports gymnasiums.

On the other hand, in order to truly have a meaningful impact on public health, the importance of a healthy and disciplined lifestyle needs to be instilled throughout the society. We need to invest into raising awareness about the benefits of exercising and fitness starting from young children. The reason for this is that parents often take an interest in their child's activities and would be eager to follow them into fitness. Furthermore, when the youngsters become adults and usher in the next generation, they would inculcate the same values of well-being in their wards.

In my view, we first need make health and fitness a daily routine starting in the primary level at school. For example, if schools made it compulsory for each student to play a sport, it'd encourage parents to take an active part as well help in their child's fitness journey. This would ensure that not only the current population but even future generations will be more conscious of their lifestyle choices.

In conclusion, while increasing sports facilities will encourage a certain part of populace, in order to reach a wider audience and to meet long-term benefits fitness and sports need to be made part of our daily lifestyle.