Car-free day is an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways

Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

KEY

It is suggested that global car-free days play a fundamental role in cutting down on air pollution. I do go along with this notion; however, I do believe there are other equally or more efficient methods.

To begin with, international car-free days do help reduce air pollution to a great extent. It is obvious that a decrease in car usage leads to lower level of exhaust fumes which are one of the main causes of air pollution. Take the covid-19 shutdown for example, during this time cars were rarely used, and the surprising result was that air quality in some major cities showed great improvements.

Global car-free days are undoubtedly effective in reducing air pollution but there are other helpful ways as well. In order to mitigate harmful air in the long run, it is advisable to invest in carbon-free vehicles. The daily need to travel long distances makes it impossible to get rid of vehicles permanently;therefor, renovating them to be environment-friendly is of great importance. Another way to deal with air pollution is to raise people awareness of its severity by setting up campaigns or advertisements relating to air problems. As individuals acknowledge air pollution, they would probably try to limit their usage of private vehicles.

In conclusion, I do believe in the effectiveness of global car-free days but still insist that there are other measure to battle air pollution