Causes and solutions of reduced family ties nowadays

Families are now not as close as they used to be

It is true that the relationship between family members in today's modern life is deteriorating. This problem could be explained by various factors; however, there are many solutions that people can adapt to cement the bond between them and other members of the family.

The development of technology is one root cause of the separation of family members. Since almost every member has electronic devices, they tend to spend their free time in front of the screen rather than talking and sharing with each other. This was not the case in the past when people's spare time was mostly spent on face-to-face communication, which allowed them to better understand one another. Today's increasingly competitive society is also one factor that weakens family bonds. To be more specific, while parents tend to work overtime to guarantee the family's financial state, children have to spent extra hours at school and study under increasing pressure to meet their parents' expectations and higher requirements of the labor market. As a result of a lack of time spent with each other, people under the same roof are no longer close as in the past.

In order to re-strengthen family bonds, some effective steps should be taken. First of all, a family rule of using technological devices should be carried out. All family members will be restricted to the use of mobile gadgets during family mealtime, thus having more time to share or talk to each other, which helps ensure that family members can allocate sufficient time for bonding with one another. What is more, children especially adolescence should be educated on how to overcome the generation gap at schools. Children spend most of their time at school where they mostly approach their friends and teachers except for their loved ones. Therefore, schools should introduce more social skills lessons in their curriculum which can teach them about the importance of family bonds and how to create an equal and harmonious relationship among family members.

In conclusion, the development of technology and harsh requirement of labour environment have resulted in reduced family ties which is still possible tightened through school education and family rules.