Certain benefits - advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad

Overseas study has recently become more popular than ever before. Despite its enormous benefits, it is still believed to have measurable demerits.

On the plus side, overseas study is beneficial in many ways. First of all, students can equip themselves with prominent skill set. Surrounded by strangers and having no acquaintances, they have to apply their social skills and language skill to make friends and integrate themselves into the foreign community. Moreover, that taking of themselves is a key to surviving in the new environment makes them become independent of their family, which they did not use to when living with their parents. All of these will prepare many necessary skills for them to lead an independent life. Secondly, immersing themselves into the education system of their host country, they can have a open view about the world. Students can have an opportunity to build up their relations with the peers who may come from all over the world. This helps them encounter a myriad of distinct cultural perspectives, traditions and religions.

On the minus side, overseas study is fairly disadvantageous. Firstly, stress and anxiety of culture shock is inevitable. Despite having known about differences in their host country's culture, they still fail to catch up with the change. this can lead to amounts of stress and feelings of frustration. Furthermore, studying abroad is such a expensive thing. Travel expenses, accommodation fee, tuition, books and supplies and overall cost of living can add up quickly. With the fear of running out of money, students are ready to reduce all necessities such as food, clothes and grapple themselves with a bunch of part-time jobs. This will lead to poor academic results and declining health of students.

It is obvious that overseas study has certain benefits. However, its thorn disadvantages cannot be ignored by students who make a decision whether to study abroad or not.