Changes in the family structure and family roles. Are they positive or negative?

changing family roles

It is obvious that family structure, along with the roles of family members has undergone several significant changes in recent decades. There exist some debates over this topic; however, from my perspective these alterations are undeniably positive.

Some conventional family structures and roles have become obsolete. The upward trend for families with both parents working is among the most prominent revolutions. Women keep pursuing higher education and careers even after marriage instead of staying at home and becoming housewives. At the same time, husbands spend more time on domestic tasks which were once attributed to women. In addiction, people now are more inclined to nuclear family rather than extensive one. A recent survey in a high school has showed that only one in fifteen students live in a multigeneration household.

These developments exert positive effects on individuals. Firstly, families with double incomes are more likely to have a high living-standard . It is clear that children gain access to prestigious schools for well-rounded education thanks to their parents' large budgets. As the results, they are well equipped with profound knowledge and survival skills to make their career path to prosperity. Also, the whole family stand a golden chance of experiencing good services in term of healthcare, transport or entertainment. Secondly, conflicts among family members can be minimized in nuclear families. People from different age groups and occupations in multigeneration families with contradictory ideas apparently trigger frequent arguments. However, smaller age gap in nuclear families makes it easier for parents to understand their children, which in turn reduce verbal quarrels.

In brief, critics raise objections on the loss of traditional values in families, it is inevitable that practical alterations take place to meet the demand of the modern world.