More and more children no longer have creative thinking - is it because of technology development?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past

In recent years, we see an increasing number of reports saying that more and more children no longer have creative thinking. They become less interested in amazing science atmospheres or less likely to have fun by themselves. Some people hold the opinion that the degradation is due to the development of technology, which I totally agree with .

One of the most obvious situations is that, nowadays, fewer children prefer to hang out with their companions to have fun, but they would rather stay at home to play computer games or watch television. As it is widely accepted that outdoor activities are beneficial to human beings for both mental and physical health, the loss of activities might lead to the weakness of children's bodies and psychology. What is more, when playing outside, children can explore the wild by themselves, such as using stones and wood to make something look like a house, or capturing insects they have never seen before, which contributes to the mental development of children as well as helping them form some kind of ability to be creative.

The decrease in creativity can also be found in class. In class, thanks to the development of technology, children have a cellphone or a laptop with them, thus they can search for everything they need online. As a result, sometimes when asked to give some novel ideas, a large number of children are prone to use the Internet to seek answers instead of coming up with the idea by themselves. At this point, technology also damages children's ability to be creative.

Last but not least, besides the restrictions brought by technology, there are a horrible number of defective influences which also play an important role in children's creativity. For instance, children are supposed to cheat if they have the access to certain kinds of technological devices. For example, cheating devices can do harm to children's ability to solve problems on their own. Consequently, we will see our children lack creative thinking.

All in all, I think technology should account for today's children's less creative behaviors.