Writing IELTS: Children with Obesity (Cause and Effect)

The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The rate of childhood obesity has become one important issue around the world especially in western hemisphere. In addition to, the growing of this problem has gone up about 20% in the last decade. There is no doubt that the main causes of childhood obesity are an unhealthy diet and lack of physical activity. Thus, this affects the rising children suffering from diseases caused by obesity.

It is clear that the lifestyle changes combined with the junk food advertisements have changed the way children consume. The study showed 1 in 5 age-school children in western countries eats up to six snacks a day. In the other point, watching television, playing computer game, or using social media is the other matter making children very prone to obese disease. The recent study presents that some children have spent their time for doing passive activities up to 7.5 hours a day. As a result, children would obtain more calories than their body needs owing to these causes.

Consequently, children with obesity are at increased risk of acute and chronic medical problems for instance diabetes mellitus, heart disease, cholesterol, and other chronic illnesses. In addition, childhood obesity also has psychosocial consequences such as low self-esteem and depression. Based on current study, obese children would have a similar quality of life as kids with cancer. Hence, these problems are also related to decreased life expectancy.

In conclusion, the rate of obese children in western society has risen up to 20% in this decade. This is caused by many reasons such as consuming fast food too much and doing more passive activities. Therefore, children with obesity would easily suffer a lot of chronic diseases and damaging psychosocial effects. (282 words)