TODAY MANY CHILDREN SPEND A LOT OF TIME PLAYING COMPUTER GAMES AND LITTLE TIME ON SPORTS. WHY IS IT?

TODAY MANY CHILDREN SPEND A LOT OF TIME PLAYING COMPUTER GAMES AND LITTLE TIME ON SPORTS.

WHY IS IT? IS IT A POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

In modern life, video games have gained much popularity among the youngsters and children thanks to its relaxation and entertainment. There are many reasons for this phenomenon, but in my personal perspective, this development can be deemed as a negative change.

Nowadays, many children are gluing their eyes to the screen playing games for various reasons. Video games are now becoming more and more diverse and attractive than they were in our parents' time (20-25 years ago), which draws many youngsters' attention. Indeed, gaming experience now is better for gamers. For instance, players are constantly given scores, new targets, rewards and achievements to keep them playing, which becomes an enormous temptation that users can not easily resist and it prevents them from exercising to improve their health. On top of that, to some unfortunate offspring who live in a dysfunctional family, computer games are considered a getaway from their anguish reality, deterring them from positive thinking and raising their optimistic thoughts.

Besides, many problems arise around spending too much time on computer-based games that cannot be forecasted and underestimated. As said before, electronic games are lures that once users are trapped in, it is extremely difficult for them to get out. Lack of sports activities and physical exercises will bring many issues to gamers. Put it differently, wasting all day looking at a computer screen leads to various acute health problems. Weak eyesight, bad posture and obesity are the best illustration for this statement. In addition, spending all day in front of electronic devices also results in children's study severely, with no time for doing homework and revisions, their further study will be ruined, which significantly affects these people's future.

In conclusion the rise of gaming and the decline in exercising are based on different reasons. Games can either be advantageous or not, depending on how the users utilize it.