Children should be taught both to co-operate and be a rival with other students

Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is generally held by some people that competitive climate amongst children should be supported while others assume collaboration with another student is more worthwhile in order to be useful grown-ups. Although, to some extent I agree that rivalry amongst students is good for children development, I firmly believe children who are preached to work collaboratively with one another will gain social skill and be more heedful to other people. This skill is absolutely helpful when children grow up and become a part of workforce.

To begin with, a competitive sense would encourage children to believe in themselves. When students in earlier ages, their parents usually register them in many of contests, such as drawing, modeling, or child-related contests, so as to instill the sense of self-confident so that children believe that they could be better if they strive for it. It is immensely useful for child development, because at childhood, the most important thing is how to enhance the children's improvement even though it is merely beneficial for themselves. Nevertheless, collaboration should be taught as well so as to prevent children to be more selfish or self-centered.

Regarding to the second idea, different situation happens when children become an adult, in which they should work together with other people. Therefore, the sense of working collaboratively with other students will helpfully improve children's social skills. For example, the children are given hard tasks which only can be finished if they work together. As such, students will realise they should be neck-and neck with other students, otherwise they will fail. Thus, they will know how to co-operate and be more sensitive with others. To work collaboratively with others is important, social skill when they are mature and entering job market.

in light of what has been said, children should be taught both to co-operate and be a rival with other students. Both of which are good for children development because they are still in their infancy. However, more attention should be paid on how to co-operate with other people owing to be more worthwhile when they become grown-ups and enter job market.