IELTS TASK 2: Clothes become an indicator in people's characteristics

Hello there.. i need feedback, i would appreciate any suggestion you may have.. thank you

Some people say that the clothes people wear are the most important indication of what they are like. Others, however, say that people should not be judged by the clothes they wear.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is certainly true that clothes are extremely important accessories in someone's physical appearance. Therefore, people believe that garments can reflect who really people are. Yet, the opponents argue that people can not be judge based on their clothing. In my opinion, such this notion of appraising people by their clothes is definitely wrong.

Apparently, people assume clothing as a reflection of personality. Those who dress by using the latest fashion show that they have a tendency keeping up with trends, for instance. Furthermore, the way people's choice to wear clothing, make statement about their body image and self-image. To illustrate, a woman who often use long skirt in her daily live, generally described as a feminine person. In addition, based on Gloria Fashion Magazine survey, the details of people clothes have significant meaning, at least describe specific culture such as batik for Indonesian people. There is no doubt that clothes play an important role in describing people personalities.

Apart from previous discussion, the opponents believe that clothes can not be an indicator to people's personalities. A 2015 recent Indonesian Corruption Watch study reveals that more than 50% of government's official do corruption. This means, although they wear good clothes everyday but there is no different personalities with common thief who steals people's money. As a result, with wearing a good clothes, it does not mean that people have good personalities. Evidence of this can be seen that people's character is not expressed by their garments.

The aforementioned evidence shows that the way people dress, might be saying a lot about their personalities. However, it does not indicate people characteristics. Where possible, people should know more about others prior to judging them. As for me, i strongly believe that true character is reflected in how people behave, not how people dress.