[TOEFL] College and universities must do a better job for the workplace.

Do you agree or disagree: College and universities must do a better job for the workplace.

Do you agree or disagree: college and universities must do a better job of preparing student for the workplace.

Nowadays, it is so competitive to get a good job, and lots of young people cannot find work after graduating for a long time. Of course I agree that college and universities should put more effort on helping students prepare for the workplace. In the following, I would like to explain m opinion by reasons and examples.

The main problem is that many students pick a major without fully understanding what jobs it will qualify them for once they graduate, and then they are frustrated to learn that the major does not come with a clear career path or one that they are not interested in following. My cousin, John, who is major in Mathematics, totally do not know what kind of job he could find after graduating. Until now, he still does a part-time job which is not much pay each hour. So helping students understand jobs associated their major is the most important thing that a school must do.

Too many students graduate with the belief that their degree will lead straight to a job. Schools should turn their concept into a right one that in most fields, a degree is simply a minimum qualification, not an instant pass to easy employment. For instance, when two people have the same degree, the employer would consider which one has experience because he can spend less time and money on training. Even though good grade might be important in our college life, there still are other achievements helping us make a superior resume.

To sum up, based on the reasons mentioned above, I believe it would be safe to conclude that schools should do a better job of preparing students for the workplace. Although some may still argue that schools do not have the responsibility of students` future work from time to time, I still believe that the advantages of helping students prepare get a good job would some outweigh those of the opposing viewpoint. With all that said, shouldn`t schools put more efforts on preparing students for the workplace?