Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good...

Hi! I am taking my first IELTS test in 2 weeks, please leave some comments! I highly appreciate a detailed band score too.

Thank you for your time and support!

TASK 2: Sports Sponsorship

TOPIC: Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

WORD COUNT: 276

As the competition between businesses getting more intense over time, so must do their advertising methods. Many companies choose to fund sports as a way to increase their publicity. I think that this is a good strategy, however, some drawbacks should also be weighed.

On the one hand, sports sponsorship has good intentions. Without extra funding, many sports events may have lacked the resource to run, and players receive inadequate support. For that reason, any companies that put the investment into these activities in need easily gain the public's fondness. For instance, Nestle Milo is famous for setting up annual intramural sports games for young Vietnamese. This campaign of Milo has been so successful that the company's image ties a strong bond with many youth athletics activities, and is widely recognized in Vietnam. By reaching a mass audience, Milo escalates its milk sales significantly.

On the other hand, sports advertisement is not suitable for all businesses. Small companies with limited finances may have little impact on an event such that their contributions are not recognized by the public. Furthermore, if their product placements cannot stand-out, small businesses can be lost in the sea of more powerful competitors. To take an example, the large majority of people will recall Red Bull when they think of Formula 1 series. The truth is these racing events are funded by above 20 corporations but all are overwhelmed by the giant drinking company.

To sum up, sports sponsorship by its nature brings benefits to all parties. I support this way of marketing. However, this advertisement strategy does bring some disadvantages as mentioned and should be put into consideration by all corporations.