Compare the advantages and disadvantages of media for communicating information

Compare the advantages and disadvantages of the three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

i. Comics

ii. Books

iii. Radio

iv. Television

v. Film, or

vi. Theatre

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant from your own knowledge or experience.

Media per se is a powerful communicating tool for human beings. Though there are varieties of media, books are considered as a preliminary foundation tool for everyone. Advancing technology invents waves that also offer radio and television. Everyone enjoys the advantages of these two invented technologic media in spite of their disadvantages.

First of all, books are the basic effective tool for communicating information. Books provide basic structural information to a child for rest of his/her life. Its effectiveness depends on the way an author writes a book; ie: its presentation - literature information, pictorial appearances or a play. More strikingly, all the scientific, technologic or business facts and updates and many more are in the book format. Book format will be preferred by most of us. Unfortunately, a book will become out of date after some years later, it is expensive, its preservation and storage are expensive and many more.

The second communicating tool is radio. Following the invention of the radio almost everyone utilize its benefits. Everyone genuinely accepts this fact. Radio unlike books, provides up to date information from time to time through various forms of programmes. Importantly weather forecast is one of them. It is totally free. All can listen at any time even while driving, especially transport updates. Everyone, for their convenience, listens to various programmes in the national as well as international broadcast. In our country, Sri Lanka, during the war era, a fair number of family members were separated from each other for many years. A radio programme was broadcasted for the isolated people to reunite or to acquaint their whereabouts. A disadvantage of radio however, may be, music can be listened to even in mobile phones making youngsters addicted to it.

The third tool in the media is television. The invention of television is a marvellous gift to the human kind. As radio, television provides up to date information but in the pictorial format. All can see vivid information live such as tsunami pictures, moon landing etc. It is a real, thrilling and a powerful tool that is accepted by everyone. On the contrary, there are some programmes that are not only suitable to children but also to adults. These programmes deviate and spoil the mind of those who are vulnerable.

In conclusion, I would say, television is the most effective communicating information among the three although there are acceptable adverse programmes in the air.