To be competitive and succesful in the long run you need take a risk - TOEFL

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Within the last few decades, there has been an unprecedented development of economy, due to the great advancement of the Internet. A large number of people become rich and successful owing to online economy. It is convenient to get access to their customers in the market no matter how far they live away from the company. So I claim that if successful people want to maintain their advantages and positions in the competitive market, they should try something fresh rather than only doing what they know well.

Let us imagine what will happen if knowleagable people just stay in their successful zones. Thanks to sophisticated technology, information spreads quickly in the Internet world. However, it has some adverse effects to companies themselves. For example, there have been several lawsuits in the past few years between Sumsung and Apple. It is not hard to figure out the reason, which is that high-qualified technology is helpful to attract consumers and is easily copied between companies, not to mention other firms in the market. When innovation is no longer innovation, when it is copied by other corporations, it loses its distinctiveness and can only survive by lowering its price, which is harmful for the product.

On the contrary, if the businessman try to enter new areas in the market, what will happen following this improvement? With the development of society, people's demands are always changing. They need faster, stronger, higher-qualified products to make their lives more comfortable and convenient. Being the first one in the market will be of great assistance in occupying the market. The more new things successful individuals try, the more benefits they get. In other words, it is a great way to beat their opponents and facilitate their consumers leave old areas, because their competitors do not have creative items.

In conclusion, I believe that people doing things which they have known well cannot always succeed , because what they maintain now does not represent the great potential in the future. Only do they discover fresh items, can they be competitive in the long run.