IELTS Task 2 - Essay on computers being the most important invention of the last century or not

Question - Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There had been much controversy on the claim that computers were the most substantial invention of the past century. I am a strong advocate of this statement and I will delve into the merits and importance of this technology in this essay.

First of all, computers have completely revolutionized every aspect of our daily lives. Computers introduce to us a new way to communicate and connect with each other. Global communication is now instantaneous due to the introduction of the internet and social media. Just recently, during the pandemic, people have been relying on computers to do almost everything. As people were quarantined - isolated from the outside world to prevent infections - people had to work, study, and even buy groceries online. It is safe to say that without computers, our lives would have been vastly different.

Moreover, computers can help us compute intricate problems, calculating the safest and fastest paths for planes or ships to take. In the past, people have always relied on radio signals to pinpoint the location of certain objects. Nowadays, however, people use GPS (global positioning system) for that reason. It is far more accurate than radio signals and it is also easy to install.

Furthermore, computers play a crucial role in medical studies. Scientists can now use computers to simulate the effects of some drugs on living species. Previously, scientists had to test all their drugs on live animals and even humans, consequently leading to the death of millions of innocent animals and people. Back in the modern world, scientists could simulate the effects using supercomputers. It would also be more accurate than animal testing as there would not be external factors such as living environment, diseases, and the animal's immune system.

Not only in medical studies, though. Computers have helped us diagnose and cure a multiplicity of diseases. They can analyze our cell samples, and accurately diagnose us. They can also scan certain parts of our bodies for the same reason. Currently, we already have machines that analyze our blood or urine samples, as well as MRI scanners and X-ray machines. Subsequently, we can those diseases before they potentially become severe. Some hospitals have started to use microbots. These microbots are injected into our body, where it is controlled to kill off pathogens in our bodies. After the job is done, it will then exit through our digestive tract. Only around 6 months ago, scientists have found a way to cure cancer using gamma radiation. They use a computer to precisely locate the cancer cells, then radiation is used to kill off those cells.

In conclusion, the impact of computers has influenced nearly every aspect of our modern society, from communication, to work, education, and health. It has played pivotal roles in many calculations and analyses. Therefore, it is safe to say that computers have been the most important invention of the last century.