Construct stadium beneficial or not? IELTS Writting Task 2

building world-class sporting venues

The erection of world-class sporting venues has both beneficial and adverse aspects. The duality of such an endeavor will be unpacked and my underpinning on the issue given.

There are three main favorable aspects of advantages to constructing huge stadia. The most critical merit is that stadium construction promotes the regional economy. It takes thousands of workers and skilled labor to complete this enormous task. Salaries from these laborers will be reinvested in the local business. Another beneficial attribute, stadiums can be used to promote culture. The aesthetic and outstanding architecture of stadiums, such as the Beijing stadium called Bird's Nest owing to its inimitable design, could get tourists' attention, thereby promoting both indigenous cultural identity and art values. When it comes to stadia, it may as well mention outstanding events putting the area on the map, and hence contribution to the regional tourism. In addition, the stadium is the predominant sporting venue. Stadium, in essence, is put up, with a view to giving sportsmen scope for attendance at sporting activities; ergo, such individuals could get a chance to show their inclination towards sport. For this reason, sports spirits can be disseminated correlating with enhancement of the public health.

There are diverse cons to this phenomenon. One of the downsides of building stadiums is the cause of some environmental issues. Ecological sustainability is demoted conspicuously in light of deforestation and depletion of natural habitat in the local flora and fauna. Furthermore, the high expenditure on maintenance and development of outdated facilities, construction together with remuneration for workforce is dished out irrelevantly. That costly price expended, for practical purposes, could be employed in the erection of hospitals and schools, which can help countless children be capable of going to school as well as the punctual cure for numerous partners. Not only is the cost prohibitive, but the use of stadiums is also impractical inasmuch as such stadia are not being used frequently, only in the evenings or weekends.

In my personal view, the drawbacks of constructing stadiums outweigh the benefits of which. There are two particular rationales for my perspectives. First and foremost, building a stadium is a long-term process that may take one or two years to complete. Moreover, given the massive building area, it requires more certain roads on which people take daily, and hence causing traffic jams. As a consequence, the standard of living of citizens is influenced severely by a range of difficulties, namely being late at work due to congestion, limits on transportation, and the increase in air pollution. Another justification is my firsthand experience playing table tennis in the local stadium. Notwithstanding the costless entrance fee, the miserable amenities of the stadium have been a controversial challenge among authorities and citizens. The seminal cause of this problem is that no charge for tickets makes the financial budget face up to the jaw-dropping expense of seating and equipment enhancement.

In conclusion, despite a variety of beneficial points, it has several disadvantages to build a large stadium. I may as well assume stadium construction is not suitable concerning the contemporary drawbacks that ought to be considered.