IELTS task 2 correction. The topic is about "cheap products"

Question:

People in the community can buy cheaper products nowadays.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

My Essay

For the time being, with the development of globally trading markets, low-cost goods are being bought by people all over the world. Although it remains a negative aspect, I still believe that the benefits invariably surpass the drawbacks.

On one hand, the downside of cheap products cannot be denied. Firstly, low prices almost come along with low qualities. For instance, when numerous electronic devices from China first broke into Europe, customers immediately realized that those were easily damaged and their durability was obviously shorter than the high price ones in dispute. Moreover, the manufacturers might minimalize production cost by several harmful methods and pollute the environment. In 2014, a Taiwan company in Formosa Industrial Zone located in Vietnam were prohibited due to millions of tons of sewage which directly and adversely affected the local ocean ecosystem as well as the life and health of the inhabitants.

On the other end of the spectrum, there are many merits that outweigh demerits. Initially, people from all walks of life are able to experience commodities which they have never thought about before. People who are under the average poverty line now can purchase smarts TV for entertainment or computers for their children. This certainly increases the living standards of the poor. Furthermore, cheap goods create fair competitions among brands and stimulate the productivity of them. For example, in the car industry, people now have endless choices including triumph entry-level cars from India or Russia. That fact is a concern for many other brands to confront with, therefore they may come up with some revolutionary changes to overhaul the production's process and management.

In conclusion, in spite of the disadvantages of the cheap products, their advantages are more vital to our world today. However, governments should carry on some solutions to tackle the negative problems mentioned above.