IELTS Writing Task 2 - Countries are becoming more and more similar because...

similarities between nations

My Essay:

It is a fact that there are increasingly many similarities between nations for the reason that any person can purchase equivalent merchandise from around the globe. This phenomenon, as know as globalization, has been becoming a trend thanks to its practical economic benefits. Nevertheless, almost everything has its price, it's difficult to avoid the potential risk behind it.

It is clear that internationalization facilitates economic and trade cooperation, hence promote competition between industries in all countries. For example, someone can buy cars from every brand such as Toyota, Mercedes, etc. right in their homeland without import tax and don't need to travel to the distant countries of manufacture. Consequently, either domestic or foreign car-makers must incessantly change and improve its design as well as technology in order to enhance competitiveness from which we can get better choices of products with higher quality as well as in affordable price.

Furthermore, it promotes cultural exchange, thus it improves the mental life of people. For instance, everyone can wear any types of fashion style, eat any traditional dishes from other countries right in their fatherland.

In contrast, universalization is not without consequences. It can cause a loss of cultural identity and diversity, in particular the confusion between cultures. To illustrate, there many building in my country draped in a mess of architecture style, such as a hybrid of old and new, western and eastern, etc.

Besides, as we have been experiencing, the difficult-to-control spread of COVID-19 being causing the hundreds of thousands of casualty over the world is to some degree due to globalisation. So, we need to have a measure to ensure epidemiological safety, even applying the closed-door policy for a while if necessary.

Altogether, globalisation has been making life more comfortable than in the past, although there are some issues to resolve. So, I hope this trend will progressively be accepted by everyone soon.