Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products

IELTS Writing Task 2

Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of international trade and better transportation, product accessibility is becoming ever present in the global village. The advantages and disadvantages of this development are further discussed in the following paragraphs.

One positive impact is that business and individual consumers can purchase native products when they are abroad. There are numerous imported and exported goods that people don't need to bring them from their hometowns. For instance, when Chinese people live in western countries feeing homesick, they can easily find Chinese-flavored spices and ingredients in the Chinatowns. Undoubtedly, having more approachable way to feel at home is essential to those people who are in need, and they can benefit from this development.

On the contrary, this trend may lead to the cultural lost. Take buildings for example, the popularity of modern architecture springs up, not only the styles but also the building materials are well spread. Nowadays, lists of famous landmarks are skyscrapers and towers in the world. Meanwhile, the traditional buildings and materials are disappearing gradually. In the near future, traditional buildings may be very rare and hardly restored. Consequently, similar architectures in different countries could erode local cultures.

All in all, there are both positive and negative sides on the issue that countries are becoming indistinguishable; people can get much easier ways to wipe out their homesickness, however, this can also result in local culture erosion. Based on this conclusion, people should weight the pros and cons to make it balance.