Are countries with a long average working time more economically successful?

Many people wrongly believe that a long average working time is directly tied to a nation's economic prosperity. From my perspective, overtime work is more likely to negatively impact on economic progress. In fact, several important factors which contribute to economic success have already shrunk working hours considerably.

Lengthening the duration of hours per employee is not necessarily improve the productivity rate of labour. Substantial scientific evidence demonstrated that extended work schedules adversely affect the health and well-being of workers. People work long hours are vulnerable to illness, including fatigue, work stress and depression, thus, decline their performance. Accordingly, the rate of sick leave is likely to increase, in a long run, which is regarded as a cost which would hold back the economic success. Hence, a long average working time is associated with diminished output.

Instead of increasing working hours, some essential factors of driving a successful economy have incredibly improved productivity along with reducing working hours of employees. Firstly, technological innovation, which proves a nation's ability to create and exploit knowledge, has become a major source of competitive advantage and wealth creation. The innovative technology, such as computer and smartphone, have helped to increase performance in producing goods, facilitated communication and enabled more extensive networking and cooperation among firms. Apart from that, highly educated and well-trained workers are vitally important to improve the productivity by competently operating industries.

In conclusion, a long average working time of a country is not proportional to its economic success.