Deforestation caused by human activity is happening in many parts of the world, with serious results

Task:

Deforestation caused by human activity is happening in many parts of the world, with serious results for the environment.

What do you think can be done to solve this problem?

Support you opinion with reasons and examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Forest is considered as the Earth's lung and it plays a crucial role in the process of living and developing of human and any other creatures. However, people have been exploited forests for many other benefits, which has brought about serious consequences for the environment. Therefore, measures ought to be taken to limit the damages that deforestation has caused.

Trees promote the soil and keep the soil from erosion. Their canopies intercept heavy rainfall so that water can drip down slowly onto the ground. Moreover, tree roots stabilize soil and help prevent erosion. Yet cutting down trees illegally and using for commercial purposes have resulted in massive damage to the environment and led to natural disasters. Namely, forest fires occurred in the rainforest Amazon were triggered by felling trees and firing to clean the lands. In order to prevent extreme results brought by deforestation, authorities must issue stringent regulations against illegal logging trees behaviours. Financial fines and even prison punishment should be applied for anyone violating the law.

In addition to legislation, individuals should practice to help our environment. We all notice that a large part of the products we use every day are made from wood: writing paper, paper bags, boxes, furniture. We should be less wasteful in the way we use these things. Paper products, in particular, offer a lot of opportunities for reusing, recycling, and reducing our use of them. Instead of throwing away paper bags after one use, we can make them clean and use for next shopping trips or find other uses around our houses. What's more, we can reduce consuming papers by creating documents and reading news articles online. These actions may seem trivial compared to the great impact of deforestation, but added up, they will make a difference.

In conclusion, not only the government but also individuals need to take immediate actions to prevent deforestation and save the environment.