My development from childhood was a narrow & curvy course...

Prompt - Share your most incredible life experience.

Please feel free to say anything you was, everything can be helpful.

"My hectic birth serves as my golden starting point which signals my strengths at first breaths. I was born by the use of a vacuum suction. My skin was rather pale purple in color which showed I was lacking oxygen. A combination of these factors saw the doctors resolving that paralysis was imminent within the first few months. I fought dearly for my life and dodged paralysis. This earned me my name "Daniel" meaning "God has judged", and surely he had known why to save me from my pitfall. In a family of three children I was the second child, with an elder brother and younger sister. My father was a man who felt the need to control everyone whom he considered himself superior. I grew up in an environment where my mother, the main care giver, was repeatedly victimized. My brother would get caught up in the cross-fire trying to ward off an attack on my mother by my father. This resulted in my mother committing suicide when I was eight and marked the downfall of my family as my brother ran away from home and my sister was given up for adoption. I had to endure a childhood without a mother figure and it made me realize that I was tougher than I looked. Three years later, I already had a step mother. It all seemed better until 2007 when I lost my father due to kidney failure. It was the first funeral I had witnessed and it drew me back, way beyond my starting point

In July 2007, my step mother made me realize how fragile family is when she sent me to an orphanage located in the remote areas of the Matabeleland Province. A place were the native language is Ndebele, a language which I could hardly speak. I struggled with insecurities that came with being threatened and bullied by other children in the orphanage. I felt like I was alone in life, with no-one to relate too. Being alone to confront the challenges of the world can be inspiring or daunting, but the path we chose to take and our response in these tough moments, is what defines us. The orphanage was a place where struggle was the theme in everyone's life. Most of the children struggled to find identity from the thought of abandonment or loneliness; hence they needed to gain this identity from what they did rather than who they are. This thought filled everyone's mind with possibilities of no boundaries and authority therefore dodging classes, bulling, stealing and even drug abuse became the day to day activities of many individuals. Nevertheless I refused to become a refugee in my own life, to cope I constructed an invisible glass wall separating me from the influence and existence of everyone else.

The thought of finding a place in the world so that I can serve a much greater cause other than myself gave me great perseverance during these anguishing periods. I emerged in front of the group in that poor learning system and I received a scholarship in December 2009, to learn at a boarding school. A desire to achieve more embodied me and I managed to acquire good grades on my "O" level national examinations. In 2010, my colleagues and I former a group called "Boys for Gender Equality" which led to events influential in my life. That year I received a district prize after writing an article about gender based violence and later saw me reuniting with my brother.

All these events, weather achievement or misfortune, have all come with a package to supplement me with perseverance , goodwill, vision and purpose, that which I intend to use as I enter into the adult world. Now I am living with my brother, the only family I have left, life seems to have negotiated most of the sharp curves in my road to success."