Development of economy required for fight against hunger and poverty. Threat for environment?

effects of the economic growth

Some people believe that the development of economy is the only solution to global issues of hunger and poverty. Others, however, argue that the environment is being threatened by economic growth, so it must be halted. I totally agree with the second viewpoint.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for the poor to live in a country which has a thriving economy. Firstly, the more companies are established, the more opportunities for jobs would appear. Therefore, it is probably easy for poor people to find a job to meet their basic needs. Secondly, the government can support the starving and needy by supplemental income or constructing charitable accommodations.

On the other hand, the increase of economy that is not unstainable may have a negative impact on the environment. For example, deforestation and over-exploiting natural resources in order to make profits without being based on meeting human needs would lead to biodiversity reduction, or even more severe natural disasters. In addition, using fossil fuels, which provide energy for growing industrialization, is causing global warming.

In conclusion, while the economic growth plays an important role in bringing a better life, it seems to me that the environmental issues should also be taken into account to avoid resulting in serious consequences.