IELTS 2: Different views about whether teachers should give their students assignments or not

SCHOOL CHILDREN NOT BE GIVEN HOMEWORK

Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

My essay:

People have different views about whether teachers should give their students assignments or not. While both of these ideas have positive sides, I believe that homework is essential to educate children.

On the one hand, students could spend more time improving physical health when not being given homework. For example, children should play sports or do volunteering to serve the community instead of staying at home in order to finish schoolwork. In fact, this even reduces pressure for students and helps them to enjoy childhood completely. Furthermore, when children are not forced or reminded of doing homework regularly, they are likely to have a good relationship with their parents and a positive view about school. Finally, not giving homework requires students to concentrate on lessons which are taught in class so as to understand clearly.

On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important for students to revise knowledge by doing assignments. Instead of promoting the idea that students just learn theories, they should take more time to practice. Owing to the time for each lesson at school might not be enough for students to put questions to their teacher, they should do homework to discover unobvious points and research by themself. Moreover, demanding children to finish tasks helps to build their responsibility and self-discipline, while pushing them to study harder and focus on the knowledge they are taught. This is the attitude that I believe schools should foster in children.

In conclusion, I can understand why people might not want to give homework to children, but it seems to me that the assignment is a necessary part of education.