IELTS essay, Will letter writing disappear?

With the increasing use of mobile phone and computer, the number of people who write letter has decreased. As a result, letter writing will disappear soon. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, communication between people become easier than before, people usually use mobile phone or computer instead of writing traditional letters to contact each others. It is said letter writing will diappear soon. In my opinion, modern ways of communicating have indeed resulted in a decline in letter writing, but I believe it will not completely disappear.

With the innovation of information technology, we have serveral kinds of communication tools including E-mails, blogs, Skype and instant messaging, it is no doubt that has been delivered much faster, quicker and more efficient. However, I should point out that the modern communication tools have a substantial negative impact on letter writing. People prefer to take a phone call and short message rather wait for the letters, in order to get instant feedback as soon as possible. As can be seen, people are getting impatient to wait for any information than in the old time.

As a traditional way of communication, letter writing played an important role in the developing of communication, there is something to be said if it disappear. Letter writing is a careful process to share our though and emotion to the others. When people hold a pen and write to friend or family member, it include a thoughtful remembrance and a declaration of love, which cannot be replaced by those digital information. Furthermore, writing emails by computer also needs the skills of letter writing, we may see there are still many courses focus on email writing skills.

To sum up, the increasing use of mobile phones and computers to exchange messages will threaten the popularity of writing letters, but the traditional skill of letter writing would never disappear if the formal writing skill will be taught properly.