IELTS: with increasing use of computers, letters writing will disappear

With the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people write letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of letter writing will disappear. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The last few years have witnessed the increasing use of mobile phones and computers as a communication tool.Consequently,some people even think traditional letters are not significant any more,and will disappear in our life eventually. Personally, I do not agree with opinion.

Admittedly, as mobile phones and computers are becoming increasingly powerful and intelligent,they can provide many advantages in our communication.To start with,as long as they are connected to the internet, we can use our mobile phones or laptops to contact our friends and family members anywhere and at any time. Besides, compared with letters, using computers or smart phones to write and send emails is much faster. Emails can reach the recipients almost right after we click the mouse button,while it can take quite a few days for letters to be delivered. Additionally, latest development of information technology offers many powerful functions,making communication over internet more enjoyable and pleasant. Video chatting software,for instance,allows us to see each other while talking,enhancing the communication experience a great deal. Obviously, all these mentioned conveniences are not what traditional letters can provide.

Nevertheless, traditional letters still have important roles to play,although electronic devices are prevailing in people's daily contact. Firstly,due to businessmen's concern over security,paper letters will be used for important business exchange,such as the signing of business contract.Secondly,on some special occasions,it is more appropriate to use letters to express our emotions like love,respect and care. For example, our girlfriends must be more touched when they see our words in paper than when receiving our emails which can be written effortlessly with the help of computer software. In such case, our handwriting has special meanings for the recipients of our letters.

In conclusion, mobile phones and computers will continue to be main means of communication,because of their convenience and efficiency. However,I believe traditional skill of letter writing is still important, as traditional letters are preferable in some special occasions.