[Ielts task 2] Education's effectiveness in leading people to a healthy eating habit

IELTS task 2 :

Scientist agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Other people think that education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opiniion.

How to make people stay healthy

Education's effectiveness in leading people to a healthy eating habit

Scientific researches have pointed out that overconsumption of junk food can have negative effects on our health. Education is believed by some to be the solution for this issue, while others are skeptical about its effectiveness. Although both parts have reasons to support their views, I am of the opinion that providing nutrition knowledge publicly will be beneficial for a healthier eating habit in society.

On the one hand, education doesn't seem convincing for some people for certain reasons. Firstly, the increasing trend of excessive consumming junk food is mostly found in developed country where techonology is well-developed and lacking information is hardly a problem. In fact, there are many other factor rather than nutrition to concern when one have to choose between processed food and a healthier choice. For example, time-saving and convinience have always been an advantage of fast food, comparing to a full courses meal. It's not just faster but also much easier to just grab a hamburger instead of cooking a menu with balanced protein, glucose and lipid. Morever, whole-grain protein bar doesn't sound as tasty and exciting as bacon and chips for most peole, especially children. Fast food chains with their expanding menus keep appearing in every corners does not make it any easier for maintain a healthy diet.

On the other hand, providing information can certainly benificial to promoting healthy eating habit. Firstly, by being informed of the amount of calories, sodium & nutrition intake, people will see how every food they choose will effect their bodies and be able to adjust their diet accordingly. Secondly, despite the fact that junk food & negative effects are now a common knowledge, most people are still ignorant to the potential diseases they might get if they don't control their consumptions of funk foods. Last but not least, children, who are most attracted to fast food can be led to a healthier lifestyle by means of education. In school, nutrition lessons and raising awareness about avoiding processed food in early years can be more effective than later.

In conclusion, even though some might be skeptical about education's effectiveness in the battle for good eating habit, I'm one to believe it can be the solution for the problem of excessive consumption of junk food if we put enough effort into it.