'education, production and entertainment' - ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF COMPUTERS

Nowadays, technology is rapidly being developed and more machines are invented everyday to assist human, and one of the most influential machines has ever been invented is the computer which is used by millions of people all over the world. The reason is that many people are finding computers more helpful and advantageous in their life. Despite the innumerable benefits computers bring to people, they also have many disadvantages as well.

The most important area that computers affect our life positively is through education. As a matter of fact, computer is a flexible and convenient learning tool because of its large capacity and portability. First of all, students can type on computers effectively, neatly, and fast. For example, there are many programs like spelling and grammar checker installed on a computer;so it will take less time and effort to write, proofread and edit an essay or. In addition, children can be shown charts, diagrams, figures or they can prepare power point presentation to make the lessons more lively. Secondly, today the Internet is global so it is very good if students can take advantage of the it to study. For instance, students can find on the internet the information of various subjects other than their school syllabus.

An additional area that computer has a positive effect on is at home and in the production of factories. Computer help laborers as well as housewives accomplish their jobs rapidly and precisely. Needless to say, computers have provided people a great amount of free time. In factories, now a computer can replace hundreds of workers by doing their boring, repeated jobs with incomparable speed. At home, with computers, people are no longer have to go to the markets to buy things since they can shop and purchase through the internet and do many other things at home. Obviously, compared with physical jobs, computers help us do our jobs much quickly and accurately

Last but not least, computer is a large source of information and entertainment. Naturally, one of its main function is to provide its users with an incredible amount of information that is updated daily. People now can read current news, check weather or make hotel reservation at home, which is, furthermore, totally beneficial especially for people staying in remote, isolated areas. More importantly, it can't be denied that the Internet is connected globally, making it easier for people to communicate to each other everywhere. For instance, a student from VN now are able to chat and talk with his family and friends in the US effortlessly via webcam or social network available on the internet. It is understandable that millions of people use the internet everyday as there is a lot of entertainment for them to enjoy at any time such as TV shows, music, movies,...

Despite all these advantages, computers do have some significant negative effect on our life

Firstly, computer is a threat to the students for their studying as well as their social life. As far as I am concerned, students now depend too much on the computer for everything they do. They don't have to read books or analyze information by their own because everything is available on the internet. With only a click, they can find information for anything they want, resulting in the laziness and more seriously, many unpredictable diseases. For instance, students who spend too much time sitting in front of the computer screen may suffer form eye strain and considerable pressure. In addition, today more and more students have become addicted to the computer. They waste too much time playing games or chatting over the it. To make the matter worse, there are many unsuitable programs for students on the internet that can affect their personality to a great extent. Secondly, since the invention of computers, employment has become a great problem all over the world. Thanks to its unequalled speed, a computer now has the ability to do a great number of boring jobs in a short time, making thousands of workers become redundant in the factories.

To sum up, computer certainly has many benefit in modern world particularly in education, production and entertainment but it does have some disadvantages as well. From my point of view, everyone should continue to take advantage of the computer because it allows us to pursue our interests and goals. However, at the same time, we should use it in an intelligent way to keep fit and to make our life more meaningful