(IELTS) Some educationalists think that international exchange visit will benefit teenagers

Some educationalists think that international exchange visit will benefit teenagers at the school.

To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some educationalists believe that teenagers will get benefits from taking part in international exchange visit. Even though there are some drawbacks when moving abroad in exchanging programs, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, traveling and staying in other countries will bring some drawbacks when the youth have an exchange visit. There are culture shocks that might affect the quality of the journey if the exchange nation has so different and strange rules in the regular activities or costumes. Weather can also be a problem for those who live in a tropical area to a cooler place.

However, there are more benefits that teenagers can get when attending an exchange visit. One advantage is the ability to have self-development that is necessary for the youth. When teenagers live far from their home country and meet new people in a different environment, they will have a chance to develop their interpersonal skills, problem-solving skills and independent opinions. Furthermore, gaining new knowledge and understanding the culture of another nation is a plus that they cannot learn and really know in their schools. To encourage the youth to take part in these exchange visits, there are many organizations running for this purpose such as AFS Intercultural Programs and AIESEC that focus on developing necessary skills and experiences.

In conclusion, despite some disadvantages when teenagers attend international exchange visits, it is still a good chance for them to develop important skills which are needful for their future and to learn new things. Governments should support these kind of learning to bring back the best results in education.