The effects of cheaper flights - IELTS Essay

In some countries flights have become much cheaper compared to others transportation. Some people think that this is a good development while others are concerned with situation? Discuss both views and your opinion?

Recently, there have been immense advances in airline industry in number of countries in a way that flight fees have become remarkably competitive. While some argue that this is a positive trend, others assert that the negatives of this enhancement must be highly considered.

To begin with, there has been considerable decrease in the offered freight charges by the airways on a day-to-day basis that has resulted in the fact that passengers have found air travel much more affordable and far more convenient than other means of transport. Not only would this make long-haul journeys cheaper for passengers, but could also be largely a saving of time. Other than that, the economy would benefit more, thereby increasing the efficiency of business trips. A businessman, for example, would be able to have a more compact itinerary in a certain period of time with the same costs, thus could do more activities and become more effective in his profession.

However, there are negative effects that should be addressed accordingly. Firstly, the lower the fees of air freights, the more demand it would be for air flights. Therefore, the number of flights would consequently increases. This can lead to traffic congestion, thereby affecting the efficiency of the airports in negative ways. The passengers would have to wait more and more at the airports owing to the fact that there would not be adequate capability to service the airlines properly. Moreover, this development would result in air pollution as well as other environmental problems like unwanted noises.

To sum up, it is evident that the reduction in air freight charges could have many benefits to people. However, I believe that there would be multiple negative consequences and it is on governments and relative industries to take steps to prevent the adverse effect of such developments.